Love and Other Things to Live For (FREE)

  • Paperback
  • 368
  • Love and Other Things to Live For
  • Louise Leverett
  • en
  • 06 October 2018
  • 9780008237035

Louise Leverett Ê 0 download

Love and Other Things to Live For review õ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook Jessica Wood is an aspiring photographer living in London She’s had her heart broken and her friends have pieced it back together againBut across the neon lights of Soho in the smell of alcohol and cigarette. One wouldn t be wrong for thinking just purely based on the playful and colourful title and cover that this is a spirited and funny story about life and love It is so much It s literary fiction it s a work of great depth even though it purports to glide glibly across the surface of emotions relationships and the meaning of lifeIt s the story of Jessica as she navigates her discovery of self after the collapse of her romantic relationship throws her into a self destructive spin The blurb describes how she searches for him in every smoke filled room in the bottom of every glass and between every sheet I don t think she is I think without actually realising it that she is searching for and has always been looking for herselfWhilst reading the voice of the twentysomething of the 21st century I realise just how lucky I was to have lived my younger years in a time before the digital age In a time where human connection was the first priority in building relationships and especially in romantic relationships Actual face to face interaction talking handwritten cards and letters phone calls on telephones that don t pre warn you of the presence on the other end In a way it must sound incredibly intimate scary and dangerous to younger generations or bold brassy and old fashionedI m not sure if I would want to be a young person or older one for that matter who has to try and find someone to love in a world of digital devices apps and images A world of catfish photoshopped images and enhanced bios Is there any truth left at all in a century driven by technology where the human touch is being slowly eradicated by industrial development and robotics In an era where the masses thrive off social media and are influenced by false facts and manipulated by monopolised media outletsAll of that may seem incredibly deep but then so is this book in my opinion It s literary fiction women s fiction and it is contemporary fiction Jessica is all of us Jessica could be Jeff and would still be all of us because her insights and experiences aren t exclusive At the same time her very personal experience speaks volumes about the struggles women have living in a patriarchal society Expected to bow down to the whims of others in our career life relationships and familiesThis story asks readers to take a step back and slowly cover the image of everyone close to them until nothing remains but the person holding these pages and reading the words Who is it that remains Who are we living for The answer must be for ourselves the rest and the others should always be secondary Is that selfishness or self preservation Either way it s food for thoughtI received a courtesy copy

read Love and Other Things to Live ForLove and Other Things to Live For

Love and Other Things to Live For review õ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook Reading her wings Jessica must ask herself who is she really living forLove and Other Things to Live For is an ode to modern girls and triumph over heartbreak perfect for fans of Holly Bourne and Dolly Alderton. For such a good title and premise it was poorly written and the plot languished There are some good ideas here but overall they were underdeveloped and I think the book needed to be worked through a bit before being published I picked it up because I like the main character recently left my corporate career path to pursue creative endeavours so I thought it would be a fun and encouraging read But in the end the characters were unrelatable and the story was clich without being well written enough to get away with it

read Ë PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook Ê Louise Leverett

Love and Other Things to Live For review õ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook Smoke on every night bus in every song every time she tries to forget she remembers him Now in a battle between the past and the future choosing between having a life and making a living finding her feet or sp. A great contemporary read fun with characters that are easily identified with and you really connect with An entertaining and enjoyable story well written and great pacingThanks to netgalley and the publisher for a free copy for an honest opinion